Motherhood

Journey to Motherhood: Featuring Featuring Nikki Lincoln

Today we feature faith-filled girl-mom, Nikki, as she shares openly about her heartbreak and the absolute love that washed over her when her daughter was born.

We never truly know what another mother goes through on their journey. The silence of their tears. The truth of their struggle. The reassuring smile that everything is okay, when maybe it’s not.

It reminds us to be sensitive when we speak before we think. Being a mom comes with so much more than cuddle’s and affection (although it’s one of the best parts) but there is so much to motherhood that people don’t see or understand.

Sleepless nights, crying over a crying baby, exhausted, overwhelmed…. we still wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. A mothers bond is enchanting and one of a kind. Unique to each woman!

Read more on Nikki’s Journey >>>>>>>

fb_img_1517576157375-03-02-01439690276.jpeg

 

Please introduce yourself and tell us how many kids you have?
Hi, my name is Nikki. I am a mom to two gorgeous little girls, Sophie and Grace. Sophie is 4 and Grace is 1.

What do you do for a living? Whether Work outside the home, SAHM or WAHM?
I work as the head of communications for a child health non-profit. Aside from my family, my job is the most rewarding part of my life.

Did you dream of being a mother when you were a little girl?
I remember dreaming of becoming a mother when I was in my early twenties, I would fall asleep and wonder about the children I carried in my heart. Who they would be, when I would have them, what they would look like. I don’t remember thinking about motherhood as a child, but as a young adult, it was always on my mind. I knew I would have children, it wasn’t something I questioned.

Motherhood is magical, how did your journey begin?
My first pregnancy was an absolute breeze. I was glowing, I loved my body, I ate and ate and ate and I rejoiced in every single moment. I went into labor on a Friday and Sophie was born on the Monday morning. It was long and painful and absolutely incredible. I look back at Sophie’s birth now and I feel so incredibly proud of what I achieved. I set out to have a natural birth with no pain relief and we achieved it.

Did you experience any difficulties on your journey to Motherhood?
My second pregnancy was a challenge. We had 2 miscarriages between Sophie and Grace and in my heart I know that God’s plan is absolute but at the time it was difficult and heart breaking. All I wanted was another baby and it felt like I would never get there.

Once we found out we were going to have another baby we were completely elated. But the pregnancy was tough, I went into pre-term labor twice at 29 weeks and then again at 32 weeks. 

nikki

Please share how you got through these times? (If applicable)
I just pray. I know to many that may seem like a wishy-washy response but I know that when my faith is strong and I feel connected to God, nothing can hold me down. In my saddest moments I turn to God and my faith provides me with all the comfort I need. Without prayer and a lot of tears, I wouldn’t have gotten through those difficult days after my miscarriages.

Explain the first moment you saw, held or heard your child? What changed inside of you?
All I remember is feeling this incredible, strong and unrelenting sense of love. Like my heart was in a free fall. Everything I thought mattered to me, no longer did. All I cared about was this squirmy, crying little bundle in my arms.

What do you remember the most from those very early weeks, as a new mother?
Pure exhaustion and absolute love.

nikki 2

What is your favorite part of being a mom?
This is a tricky one, because it’s hard to isolate just one thing. Sometime my children offer up spontaneous moments of affection, they will run to me for a kiss or a cuddle and it usually takes me by surprise. I live for these moments. Because I know that in them, there is so much love and it fills my heart.

Do you have a pet name for your child?
We call Sophie, Soph and Grace is sometimes called Gonni

Since becoming a mother, has your view of your own parents changed?
Oh absolutely. I had no idea what it meant to be a parent before having my own children. Since becoming a mom I have a new-found respect for my own mom and dad and I look at my childhood memories differently. I appreciate them so much more now than I ever did.

What is your advice to new moms starting out their journey of motherhood?
I think the one thing I would say (and always say) to new moms is, don’t be too hard on yourself. You will make mistakes, you will feel guilty, you will have very difficult days, don’t let the bad moments take over.

nikki 3

Thank you so much Nikki for sharing your story with us, you have been amazingly strong in your Faith and it’s so inspiring! Look forward to following you and your girls as you continue your journey of motherhood.

You can follow Nikki and her gorgeous girls here >>>>

Twitter – https://twitter.com/nikkilincoln

Facebook –  https://www.facebook.com/wearethehumansblog/

Instagram –  https://www.instagram.com/nikkilincoln/

Website – wearethehumans.co.za

 

I hope that my daughter grows up empowered and doesn’t define herself by the way she looks but by qualities that make her an intelligent, strong and responsible woman.

Isaiah Mustafa.

 

With Love,

IMG_20170919_150042

 

4 thoughts on “Journey to Motherhood: Featuring Featuring Nikki Lincoln

  1. Thanks for sharing your story Nikki. I have two beautiful children and then I had my tubes cut because our little family was complete. Then 6 weeks ago I landed up in hospital to find out I was pregnant and it was an ectopic pregnancy. I had internal bleeding and my life was in danger. It was the most heart breaking moment of my life. I had to have an operation to remove the fetus, remove one of my tubes and stop the bleeding.

    It is still so fresh and painful that some days I still struggle to make it through. I am so sorry to hear about your miscarriages. It is a devastating experience for anyone to have to go through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lynne, for being so brave to share your story with us. I am so sorry for what you have experienced, I cant begin to imagine the heartbreak you are feeling! Sending you big cyber hugs and huge amount of strengths. God Bless xx

      Like

      1. Thanks Sade. It has been quite the start to this year that’s for sure. The support and kind words have been amazing though. I share the whole experience on my blog and the amount of women that responded and said the same thing or something very similar happened to them has been overwhelming. I can’t believe so many women have been through this. Miscarriage happens to so many women.

        Like

Leave a comment