Motherhood

A Mama’s co-sleeping message to her child

A-mamas-cosleeping-message-to-her-child

My dear sweet child,

Waking up to your face every morning is one of the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen.

Holding your little hand in the middle of the night, kept my heart tank full and my dreams magical.

Having you kick me in the face was not ideal, but I took it on the chin (pun intended) and still enjoyed it.

I loved it when you would lie on top of my face, on the very edge of the bed, while you slept like a starfish.

I loved every minute of it.

And then, just overnight, you grew out of it and I wasn’t ready. I wasn’t ready.

 

I miss you beside me each night. I miss breathing you in and staring at you while you sleep.

I miss your cry at midnight for another warm, soothing milk bottle.

I miss your little whimper for your dummy.

That peaceful look on your face reminded me that no matter how hard the day was, you were just learning your way and so was I.

I miss you. Sounds so silly because I’m with you every day. I miss that quiet, special time we shared.

And then you knew, you knew without knowing, just when I needed my heart tank filled, you knew just when to crawl back into my bed.

But have grown so much, blankets are annoying and mommy’s hand on your back is distracting. Wow, my baby, look how big you are… look how far we have come.

You held my hand for a little while before drifting back to sleep and I slept with a tank overfilling with my child’s love.

A-mamas-cosleeping-message-to-her-child

It’s been ages since we last co-slept but its felt so much longer. Where does the time go…. I want to take every single moment I can get, to just breathe you in and keep you young.

You are fiercely and wonderfully made and I made you, GOD choose you for my life and I will be eternally grateful for his choice. You are the perfect fit to my life.

You are a part of me and I am a part of you. And although you grow and develop daily, my baby you will always be.

You are getting so independent and the little things you couldn’t do, are now the big things that you accomplish.

You beam with pride when you have completed something and just know that I’m beaming too.

So thank you, my sweet child, Thank you for giving me exactly what I needed without knowing.

Thank you for reminding me of what a wonderful thing it is to be a parent, so emotionally rewarding, such powerful unconditional love.

You remind me that the little things are always going to be remembered as the big things.

Life is an adventure, an adventure I walk with you. Through my eyes you will always be my sweet child. One day I hope you can see yourself the way I see you.

My heart tank is full, you did that!

I love you endlessly and forever…

Always,

Your Mama

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Mama’s co-sleeping message to her child

Leave a Reply

