Motivational Posts

Two Wolves

The other day I saw a short clip shared on Facebook (a real wealth of knowledge, news reports, funny videos and pictures of people’s dinner plates!), and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head… It even showed up in a movie I watched over the weekend…. and its nothing short of the truth! Here is the tale:

“One evening an old Cherokee Indian told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people. He said, ‘My son, the battle is between two ‘wolves’ inside us all.One is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.

The other is good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather: ‘Which wolf wins?’

The old Cherokee simply replied, ‘The one you feed’.”

This rings so true for me, as its so easy to start feeding the evil wolf, “why does my car always have to give me problems?”, “When will I just get a break in life”,”It’s so hard having to do everything by myself” and the list can go on…. and the moment I start dwelling in everything that is going wrong in life; the tunnel gets longer and longer and the light slowly starts to disappear. The trap is so easy to fall into when one has back-to-back events that dampen your focus and your faith….

But as soon as I start to shift my focus onto something positive, I instantly feel better… I’m one of those people who know I have to think positive but just doesn’t want to hear when I’m stuck in my self-pity… but that’s the time I need to hear the most!!! When I’m grateful, kind, hopeful and honest… then the light gets bigger and the warmth sets in.

Last week, I attended an Assembly at a local school in Hammarsdale, for work… and WOW! what a humbling experience! The assembly in an open court-yard, while the learners stand with their school bags and they sing songs from memory …. big difference from the school I attended (which was considered middle class). The poorer community’s have problems which I don’t even consider when I’m too busy complaining about my situations. That experience gave me a whole meal to feed the good the wolf with.

It reminded me that although things in life are hard, there is always someone who has been through worse and I should remain thankful always. Remember, you never truly know what the another person is going through.

I’m thankful for a wonderful support system, as I certainly wouldn’t have made it this far without them. These people have supported me, loved me and reminded me that everything is going to be okay!

I’m thankful to be working and earning an income, considering the unemployment rate in the country.

I’m thankful for a healthy beautiful son, even on the days when he makes me want to pull my hair out.

I’m thankful for a husband in recovery, as it means he isn’t living on the street.

I’m thankful for running water, indoor plumbing and a warm meal ever night, without fail.

So I will continue to try my best to feed the good wolf only; and when I slip and the evil wolf is in charge – I will ensure that I do not dwell but rather have a good cry and move on.(Nothing like a good cry – even if you have one 5 times a week). We can’t get rid of the evil wolf completely but we can decide each day, which one wins!!

With Love,

Disney Mom

images

 

Leave a Reply

